Advent Reflection #1

I’m glad and amazed all at once that Advent is upon us.  Christmas 2011 will be my 30th as a Christian, and I rejoice to be able to say from a full heart that the Gospel that broke in on my life with such compelling power and beauty in 1981 is even lovelier and more compelling to me today at 3 decades’ remove.

Over the years–I think because I was converted at Christmas time–I’ve experienced Advent as an especially rich time for reflection and celebration.  This year, I want to commemorate the joys of Advent a bit more publicly than usual by sharing some of my favorite Advent/incarnation quotes and reflections with you on this blog.  I do so with the prayer that the Lord will use them to point every visitor to these pages to Christ.  I’m also hoping that the discipline of daily posts during Advent will train me to be a more regular blogger, something I’ve wanted to do for a while now.

I’ve been very fond of Luci Shaw’s poetry for quite some time now.  I highly recommend her collection, “Accompanied by Angels: Poems of the Incarnation.”  Because I will be preaching from Matthew 1:18-25 this upcoming Sunday, I was drawn today to her poem “Virgin.”  I hope it will encourage you today to reflect with wonder and gratitude on the Incarnation:

Virgin

As if until that moment

nothing real

had happened since Creation

As if the outside world were empty

so that she and he were all

there was–he mover, she moved upon

As if her submission were the most

dynamic of all works; as if

no one had ever said Yes like that

As if that day the sun had no place

in all the universe to pour its gold

but her small room

SDG

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

